Access for people in your company…
If someone in your company has access to a project, they can see the project on the dashboard, go into the project, and add/edit content. If they don’t have access they won’t see the project mentioned anywhere, they won’t be able to access it, and they won’t get any email notifications about it. Here is how you give admin access to someone in your company.
Access for people in other companies (clients, etc.) …
People on the client side of a project can have one of three permissions levels. You can adjust these permissions from the People & Permissions tab of your project:
- Messages & files: If the checkbox is checked, they can access the project, view milestones, post comments, post messages, and upload files.
- …plus to-dos: If the “…plus to-dos” radio button is selected, this person can access the project, view milestones, post comments, post messages, upload files, and add/edit/remove to-do lists/items.
- …plus Calendar: If the “…plus Calendar” radio button is selected, this person can access the project, view milestones and events, post comments, post messages, upload files, add to-do lists/items, and add milestones and events. *
Note: Unless the restrictions above have been enabled, clients who have access to a project…
- Can edit/delete messages or milestones they’ve entered.
- Can check off, edit, or delete any to-dos entered by any user.
- Can assign to-do items or milestones to people in their company and your company.
- The items mentioned above are the only things that clients can edit (clients cannot edit anything else added by account owners).
To change who can see a specific project, simply click the project on the Dashboard then click the “People & Permissions” tab once you are inside the project.
Next, click the “Add people, remove people, change permissions” link at the top of the page.
You’ll see a list of everyone at your company. Check the box in front of someone’s name to give them access to this project. Uncheck to remove access. (People without access won’t see the project.)
You can also add another company to this project and then give access to people from that company. The button is at the top!